Arizona Aviation Hall of Fame

The Arizona Aviation Hall of Fame is located in the Dorothy Finley Space Gallery and offers museum visitors a unique opportunity to acquaint themselves with noteworthy Arizona aviators. Established by a joint proclamation of the Governor of Arizona, the Pima County Board of Supervisors, and the City of Tucson in 1985, the Hall of Fame is a permanent shrine to Arizonans who have played a role in or made a significant contribution to aviation and aerospace history. Noteworthy honorees include: former United States Senator Barry Goldwater, astronaut Frank Borman, and Doolittle Raider David “Davey” Jones.

Make a Nomination

Would you like to nominate someone to the Arizona Aviation Hall of Fame? You can nominate someone at any time. Nominees shall have been born in Arizona or have lived in Arizona during his/her lifetime for a period of time deemed appropriate. All information requested in the Nomination Application must be provided. The nominee will have made his/her contributions while living in Arizona.

Nomination Form

Click to nominate a candidate online or to download a Microsoft Word document/form. After a nomination is received, if accepted, the Honoree is invited to attend an Arizona Aviation Hall of Fame (AAHOF) awards dinner and Induction Ceremony.

Honorees in the Arizona Hall of Fame

Listed Below in Alphabetical Order

Harold L. Abrams
David L. Althoff
Barbara McConnell Barrett
Edward Raymond Beauvais
Mark Berent
Frank Borman
Janet Harmon Bragg
Gerald Brown
Harry B. Combs
Fred J. Cone
John Connelly and Leland Hayward
Roy M. Coulliette
William P. Cutter
Kenneth H. Dahlberg
Roy S. Davis
Walter Douglas, Jr.
Donald C. Downie
Graham “Lum” Edwards
Frank K. “Pete” Everest
Frederick E. Ferguson
Ronald R. Fogleman
Joseph Jacob “Joe” Foss
John Clifford Garrett
John Richard Gasho Sr.
Laurence Gesell
R.D. “Hoot” Gibson
Barry Goldwater
Leon W. Gray
James R. Greenwood
A.V. Grossetta
Gordon B. Hamilton
Barbara Lee Harper
A. Howard Hasbrook
Raymond L. Haupt
Vernon V. Haywood
Ruth Helm and Dawn Seymour
Alfred A. Hudgin
Ralph S. Johnson
David M. Jones
Joseph La Placa
Irene Leverton
Joseph C. Lincoln
Frank Luke, Jr.
Charles Eugene Mann
Charles W. Mayse
John S. McCain III
Roy McCaldin
Robert T. McCall
Charles O. Miller
Michael F. Mitchell and Martha A. Mitchell
Joseph A. Moller
Edwin Jones Montgomery, Sr.
A. Lee Moore
Gladys Mae Morrison
Douglas T. Nelson
Elgin Roy Newell
Ralph O’Neill
Donald L. Owens
Roger I. Parrish
Ruth R. Reinhold
S. Harry Robertson
Charles A. “Buck” Rowe
Darrell A. Sawyer
Carl G. Schneider
Arvin Schultz
Raymond Victor Schwanbeck
Francis R. “Dick” Scobee
William Rees Sears
Clarence E. “Dutch” & Joan Fay Shankle
Ruby Wine Sheldon
Lowell H. Smith
Peter Smith
Richard G. Snyder
R. Dixon Speas
Cheryl A. Stearns
George I. Steinke
Clifford M. Sterrenberg
Hugh W. Stewart
Louise Timken
James W. Turnbow
William S. Underwood
Arthur Van Haren, Jr.
George Varga, Jr.
Ralph G. Vaughan
James Vercellino
Patty R. Wagstaff
Billy Walker
Robert W. Waltz
Hewitt T. Wheless
Jack Womack
Robert Woodhouse & Woodrow P. Jongeward

Pima Air & Space Museum

Creating unlimited horizons in aerospace education through the preservation and presentation of the history of flight.

Charity EIN: 86-6031135

Copyright ©
Website by CS Design Studios

Contact Info


6000 E Valencia Rd, Tucson, AZ 85756

Operating Hours:
Open 9 AM – 3 PM Daily
Last Admittance at 1:30 PM